LimoToledo abides by state regulations to insure your safety while you ride in luxury
Rules of operating limousines and limo coaches in Ohio and Michigan
- To operate in the state of Ohio: any sedan, limo, SUV, limo coach, etc., must be compliant and registered with the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO).
- To cross state lines for any form of compensation, a company must be USDOT registered and compliant.
- If you see a car with city tags on it that means that car is only licensed to operate within the city limits and immediate suburbs.
- Most local companies only register on a local level to keep their costs down and avoid the stringent rules of the USDOT, such as drug testing, hours of operation, maintenance records, etc.
- Any company that crosses state lines that is not USDOT compliant is in violation of federal transportation laws and is subject to arrest and seizure of property.
- Any vehicle that transports more than six passengers across state lines is required to have the USDOT number displayed on the side of the vehicle.
- All documents proving proper compliance and insurance must be kept in the car and be available for viewing upon request.
Insurance requirements for operating limousines and limo coaches in Ohio and Michigan
To transport 1- 15 passengers, a minimum insurance liability of $1.5 million dollars is required.
To transport 16 passengers or more, a minimum insurance liability of $5 million is required.
Be sure to ask to see a current certificate of insurance that clearly shows the policy amount and vehicle schedule.
A CDL with passenger endorsement is required at all times when operating a vehicle that has a passenger capacity of 16 or more including the driver.
Any company that does not use or follow these rules and regulations will probably be taking short cuts in other areas as well, such as training, insurance, maintenance, etc.